Fat Free Mass Index (FFMI)

I just read recently about the Fat free mass index (FFMI)? I found this calculator online to determine mine and the result is a bit intriguing but also kind of explains why I might be so successful with my weight loss so far.

The FFMI calculator computes the muscle mass index for bodybuilders and fitness enthusiasts based on weight, body fat and height. It is used to assess your body mass while also taking into account muscle and fat mass. It is calculated by the following equation:

■ Lean = Weight in kg x (1.0 – (Body fat %/ 100.0))
■ FFMI = (Lean / 2.2) / ((Height in ft x 12.0 + in) x 0.0254)2 x 2.20462
■ Adjusted FFMI = FFMI + (6.1 x (1.8 – ((Height in ft x 12.0 + in) x 0.0254)))

This was my result from using the calculator:FFMI

As you can see I’m in the “Superior” category with an adjusted FFMI of 24.71. Now two things can be going on here. My scale is bad at calculating my fat % or I naturally carry a lot of muscle on my frame. I have been following up with my scale using calipers and it is very much in line with those readings. So I have to conclude that I naturally carry a lot of muscle mass.

Since I carry a superior amount of muscle vs the normal man, I think I can conclude that my body naturally burns more calories per pound. This could be an explanation why I have been able to lose so much weight in a relatively short period of time. It might also explain why most people say they don’t think I’m as heavy as I actually am.

I have been trying really hard to keep my muscle mass intact while losing fat. And so far I’ve been successful. The question is, does this affect my plan for losing weight? I know it affects what I might think is my goal weight of 200 lbs. If I’m carrying about 183.09 lbs of lean mass then 200 lbs seems like it might be tough to achieve. If everything stayed the same, and my math is correct, at 200 lbs I would be 8.5 % body fat. I’m not even sure what that would look like on me.

I’m just going to keep doing what I’m doing and still shoot for my 17% body fat goal. Once I get under that I’m not really sure what to do from there. Do I maintain? Do I continue to try to lose more fat? These are questions that I’m now contemplating after 20 months of weight loss.

What do you think? Do you think the FFMI is more helpful than BMI? Can the info be of use to you while you are losing weight? Tell me what you think.


Side note about featured image for this post. I’m approaching the 17% body fat range but do not have a body like him. Why? Lots of loose skin. While I might want to look like him, in reality I won’t without surgery. But I’m ok with that. I want to be below that for health reasons, not vanity.

Leave a Reply

